Friday, January 8, 2010

Patty Griffin brings the Praise

Patty Griffin's seventh album will be released on January 26th. However, it's a slight variation from her normal repertoire of music. "Downtown Church" is a gospel album. It was recorded in the Downtown Presbyterian Church in Nashville, and will include Emmylou Harris, Shawn Colvin and gospel group The Fairfield Four as guest vocalists. The album will feature a wide range of influences, from the traditional country sound to a more blues-oriented style.

Some of the tunes include: "Death's Got A Warrant", "Wade in the Water" and "Move Up", as well as covers like Hank Williams' "House of Gold" and traditional songs such as "Never Grow Old" and "If I Had My Way". The album also will feature a few of her own tunes, including "Coming Home To Me" and the ballad "Little Fire."

So be sure to stop at your local record store or online music shop to pick this one up.

No comments:

Post a Comment